Banks & Trusts

Financial Institutions can be divided into two major categories, Banking Institutions and Non-bank Financial Institutions. The Banking Institutions that we regulate include all state-chartered commercial banks, savings banks, savings and loan associations and non-depository trust companies. Click here for a list of our NC State-chartered Banks & Trusts.

Any financial institution that has the words national, federal or the letters NA in their name are not regulated by this agency. They are regulated by one of the Federal agencies which include the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) for national banks.

Any financial institution that is a credit union is not regulated by this agency. They are regulated by either the State of NC Credit Union Division or if they have the word federal in their name by the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA).

If you have questions regarding credit cards those should be directed to the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency.

Lastly, we have no jurisdiction over branches of banks that are headquartered in another state even though they have branches operating in North Carolina. You may wish to contact to the Conference of State Bank Supervisors to see who the regulator is for each state.

Bank & Trust Bulletin Board

Latest News