
MEMORANDUM 
 

From:  Stephanie White, Chief Deputy Commissioner  
Date:  February 16, 2023 
Subject: Clarification of the Scope of the Consumer Finance Act, Article 15 

 

The North Carolina Office of the Commissioner of Banks (NCCOB) issues this memorandum to 
the public to respond to inquiries and provide clarification regarding the type of loans and 
financial institutions subject to the North Carolina Consumer Finance Act (CFA), Article 15 of 
Chapter 53 of the North Carolina General Statutes (NCGS).   

Effective June 19, 1961, the CFA was enacted to protect consumers and provide a licensing and 
regulatory framework for non-depository lenders. The CFA regulates businesses that engage in 
the lending of $15,000 or less to consumers at interest rates higher than those allowed under the 
State’s usury laws outlined by Chapter 24 of the NCGS. Under the CFA, lenders are limited to 
the specific interest rates described in the following chart: 

Loan Amount Up to $10,000* Interest Rate 

0-4,000 30% 

>4,000-8,000 24% 

>8,000-10,000 18% 

*Reference: NCGS § 53-176(a); rates are blended. 

Where a loan is greater than $10,000, the interest rate shall not exceed 18%. 

Persons that intend to “contract for, exact or receive directly or indirectly, or in connection with 
any loans, any charges…which in the aggregate are greater than permitted by Chapter 24” must 
apply for a license with the NCCOB unless exempted under statute. A list of licensees can be 
located here. 

Licensure is not required for all businesses that make loans in North Carolina. A lender who 
lends an amount less than $15,000 and charges an interest rate less than what is regulated under 
the CFA would not require a license. NCGS § 24-1 allows lenders to charge an interest rate of 
8% while NCGS § 24-1.1 caps interest at 16% on a “loan, purchase money loan, advance, 
commitment for a loan or forbearance other than a credit card, open-end, or similar loan” of 
$25,000 or less.  

Several businesses are exempt from Article 15 under NCGS § 53-191. These businesses include: 
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• Banks;  
• Trust companies, 
• Savings and loan associations; 
• Cooperative credit unions; 
• Agricultural credit corporations or associations organized under the laws of North 

Carolina; 
• Production credit associations organized under the Farm Credit Act of 1933;  
• Pawnbrokers lending or advancing money on specific articles of personal property; 
• Industrial banks; 
• A business that negotiates loans for real estate as defined in NCGS § 105-41; and 
• Installment paper dealers as defined in NCGS § 105-83. 

Only those lenders who make direct consumer loans and wish to charge interest rates above 
those allowed in Chapter 24 — and who are not otherwise exempt under the CFA or operating 
under another lending law (such as the Retail Installment Sales Act (RISA)) — need be licensed 
by NCCOB.  

Any applicant/licensee or unlicensed lender found to have violated the CFA is subject to 
disciplinary actions up to and including revocation, suspension, or surrender of its license under 
NCGS § 53-171(a) unless it is considered an exempted business or falls under another lending 
law. 

If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the NCCOB at (919) 733-3016. 
Thank you.  
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